Level 3 Assessor Courses

Level 3 Assessor Courses

8442 views | Amna | 31-12-2016

The new Level 3 Assessor Awards and Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement replaced the older D32, D33, A1 and A2 qualifications. The 4 qualifications are actually made up of various combinations of 3 units, so depending on your requirements, you can choose units to qualify you to teach in a classroom environment or directly in your learners’ workplace.

To download the full brochure include Unit combination details and unit summaries, click ELN Assessor Qualifications.

The three units available in the Assessor suite of qualifications are:

  1. Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment.
  2. Assess Occupational Competence in the Work Environment
  3. Assess Vocational Skills, Knowledge and Understanding

You should choose the units depending on the assessment methods you use and whether you assess your candidate in a classroom or simulated environment or in their workplace.

Unit 1 Only: This will lead to the Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment. This is a theory only unit and most suitable for learners who wish to gain a theoretical understanding only OR those who are completing this unit as part of the Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training.

Units 1 & 2: This is known as the Award in Assessing Occupational Competence in the Work Environment. As the name suggests, this is useful for assessors who assess their learners in their workplace or ‘on the job’. Simulated assessments are not allowed for this one. Suitable assessment methods for this one include direct, graded observations, witness testimony, professional discussion, work-based evidence etc.

Units 1 & 3: This is known as the Award in Assessing Vocationally related Achievement. This qualification is for candidates who assess learners in a classroom or simulated environment. Assessment methods include tests, exams, observations, demonstrations, micro-teach presentations, portfolio assignments etc.

Units 1 & 2 & 3: Completing all three units leads to the Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement. This will qualify candidates to assess their learners in both classroom and workplace environments.

All of the Assessor qualifications are suitable for those working within FE Colleges, private Training Providers, Local Authorities etc.

This includes assessors, their managers, internal quality assurers or internal verifiers (IQA or IV’s) and external quality assurers or external verifiers (EQA or EV’s) who are assessing and quality assuring qualifications for example, NVQ’s (National Vocational Qualifications), QCF’s (Qualification Credits Framework),  HE qualifications (Higher Education), FE Qualifications (Further Education) and more.

All the Assessor qualifications are based on the assessment strategy and qualification structures, devised originally by Lifelong Learning UK (LLUK), and are now under the Learning and Skills Improvement Service (LSIS). The Level 3 Assessor Awards and the Level 3 Assessor Certificate are accredited by most major UK Awarding Organisations. This is additionally beneficial to international students or UK students looking for work overseas, as the UK QCF qualifications are recognised and highly regarded worldwide.

The units in these qualifications overlap and can be used to claim exemption from a variety of Learning & Development and Education & Training qualifications, for example, the Level 3 Award in Education and Training and the Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training.

Don’t forget to follow us on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

TAGS: level-3-assessor-qualifications

Share this Post

Related Articles

  • Physical & Sensory Impairment
    Educational Blogs 241 views

    Physical & Sensory Impairment

    Physical and Sensory impairment means having challenged or diminished ability of one's body or the five senses. The physical impairment may be a loss of function or ability of the body parts or organs. Sensory impairment is the inability of the body to receive information from any of the five senses or to process the collected information.  


  • Teacher training for International Students in UK

    Teacher training for International Students in UK

    Are you an international student in the UK, also looking for job opportunities to become a teacher or trainer for adult learners? You’re in the right place. In the first place, you must know what teacher training courses are. Teacher training courses enable students to become a teacher / trainer in their own special area.

Comments (0)